top of page

There's always one that has to be different!


Things have been rather hectic over the past few weeks and I’ve just realised that I missed posting a blog in April. To make up for that over-sight I will try and post two this month, so they will become like buses – you wait for ages and then two turn up at once!

2017 has been a particularly good year for bluebells, with wonderful displays all over the country. The local papers and local weather spots on the television have been inundated with photos taken by their readers/viewers, some of which have been absolutely stunning. I visited our local woods at the weekend and caught the tail end of the spectacle. They are now going to seed and the sea of blue is being diluted by the sprouting fern fronds and bursts of pink campion.

There was even one pure white bluebell.

On the way to these woods I was lucky to spot a pair of yellow hammers on The Downs. The yellow colouring on the male’s head is amazing and is what originally made me notice him – I wondered what the strange yellow blob was that kept appearing out of the grass! It was only the second time that I had seen one and was the first time I had been able to photo one. I apologise for the poor quality of the photo, but it was the closest I could get with my camera, without frightening the birds. I’m not really a bird-watcher, but anything unusual or odd does attract me.

Talking of unusual things, I have always been fascinated by gravestones and in particular the ones with fancy carvings or which include unusual inscriptions. I recently visited Steyning, which has a lovely old church dedicated to St. Andrew and St. Cuthman. The latter was probably born at Chidham in Sussex, about 681 AD and his family may have been converted by St. Wilfrid, who was active in the area between 680 and 685 AD.

Legend has it that St. Cuthman was a shepherd, who cared for his paralyzed mother after his father had died. During hard times they had to beg from door to door and Cuthman built a wheelbarrow that he used to transport his mother. He attached a rope, which ran over his shoulders, to help spread the weight. They set out from home, heading east and when the rope broke, he fashioned a new one from withies. He decided to build a church wherever the replacement rope snapped. This happened at Steyning.

First Cuthman built a hut to house himself and his mother and then he began work on the church. The locals helped, whether they wanted to or not, as those who did not assist were subject to divine punishment. As the building neared completion, Cuthman encountered problems with a roof beam. A stranger appeared and showed Cuthman what to do. When Cuthman asked his name, he replied:

"I am he in whose name you are building this church.”

There are other legends concerning St. Cuthman in the area, but I will leave them for another time and instead return to the graveyard.

Older Sussex graveyards often included double tombstones, which usually have the husband on one side and his wife on the other. Depending on the size of the stones and the family involved, children are often mentioned too. Several of this type can be found in Steyning, along with some beautifully carved designs. Here are a few.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page